Saturday, September 24, 2022

Find us on FacebookFind us on TwitterFind us on Youtube

Text/HTML

Minimize

License to Carry Firearms

 

The Lycoming County Sheriff’s Office is responsible for processing all applications for Pennsylvania License to Carry Firearms (LTC). This license allows a person to carry a firearm concealed on their person or in a motor vehicle. The license is issued to a person who qualifies, based on a background investigation conducted by Pennsylvania Firearms Unit.  The Sheriff has 45 days to determine an individual’s eligibility to be issued an LTC. The license is valid for a period of 5 years. The license may be revoked at any time, by the Sheriff of the issuing County for reasons of misuse or criminal activity.

This license does not authorize/exempt a person to carry a firearm for employment purposes.  There are exceptions as listed under Title 18 Section 6106 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code – (Firearms not to be carried without a license).  You will be in violation of the law if you carry a firearm for employment purposes unless you are properly certified under Act 235 – Lethal Weapons Training Act.  This certification and information can be obtained directly from the Pennsylvania State Police.

All applicants are reminded that furnishing false information to law enforcement is a violation of Section 4904 of the Pennsylvania Crimes Code – Tile 18 (Unsworn Falsification to Authorities).  Any violation shall be dealt with according to law and prosecuted by this office.

 

Application Instructions for New & Renewal Applicants

STEP 1: Download, complete, and print an APPLICATION.

STEP 2: Mail your completed application to The Lycoming County Sheriff's Office at 48 West Third Street, Williamsport, PA 17701 OR submit your application in person. 

STEP 3: You will receive a phone call from the Sheriff's Office to schedule an appointment to come in to the office to complete the application process. If you are a person with a disability listed under the American Disability Act (ADA), please advise our staff when you are contacted to schedule your appointment. If you submited your application in person, you will be asked to schedule an appointment , or if time permits, you may be able to be processed that day.   

STEP 4: Arrive at the Sheriff's Office for your scheduled appointment, temporarily located at 33 West Third Street, Williamsport, PA 17701 with a valid PA ID or Driver's License and $20.00 cash, check, money order, or credit card. If paying with a credit card, there is a $2.00 processing fee to PAYGOV.

 

Cost of Application/Permit

LICENSE TO CARRY (LTC): ONLY $20.00 Cash, Check, Credit Card, or Money Order. Please Note, There is a $2.00 processing fee to PAYGOV for using your Credit Card

LEOSA (Law Enforcement Officers Safety Act): $5.00, MUST BE A MONEY ORDER. THIS IS FOR RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT ONLY.

 

Hours Of Operation for Processing 

Monday through Friday 9 am to 430 pm

Walk-ins are welcome, however, individuals with appointments will be taken first

 

Concealed Carry License Reciprocity

The following states do not require a concealed carry license to carry a concealed firearm in that state:

Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Vermont, West Virginia

The following states do not allow a Pennsylvania resident to carry a concealed firearm in that state without a separate concealed carry license issued by that state:

California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington

The following states allow Pennsylvania residents with a Pennsylvania concealed carry license to apply for their state’s concealed carry license:

Arizona, Connecticut, Florida, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington

The following states do not allow Pennsylvania residents with a Pennsylvania concealed carry license to apply for that state’s concealed carry license:

Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Delaware, Georgia, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming

 

                                                        

 

Copyright 2007 by Lyco.org