Friday, January 28, 2022

Find us on FacebookFind us on TwitterFind us on Youtube

Regional Solid Waste Plan Development

Solid waste management plan overview

The County Commissioners of the Five-County Region encompassing Columbia, Montour, Lycoming, Union and Snyder Counties underwent a comprehensive, multi-year effort to create a Regional Solid Waste Plan. The Plan will meet the collective waste capacity needs of the region for a ten year period, as required by Pennsylvania law.

Lycoming County acted as the lead agency for the development of the Plan. The process involved extensive stakeholder and public involvement. The Regional Plan, accepted by DEP on February 26, 2013, complies with the requirements of Act 101 (the Pennsylvania Municipal Waste Planning, Recycling and Waste Reduction Act of 1988), and appropriate amendments to that Act.

2019 Five County Solid Waste Plan Revisons

These are the revisions to the Five County Solid Waste Plan. The revisions are necessary due to a recycling status change in Montour County. The following documents show the only proposed changes. To view the full original plan please visit the Final Regional Solid Waste Management Plan website.  

2019 Solid Waste Plan - original

2019 Solid Waste Plan - draft revisions

A one-year implementation period follows the official DEP acceptance of the plan, which occurred on February 26, 2013. The five counties have formed a Regional Steering Committee to carry out implementation of the plan. For more information, contact Steering Committee Chairman Austin Daily (Lycoming County Community & Economic Development Planner) at or (570) 329-4761, or Steering Committee Vice-Chairman Bob Huntington (Union County Environmental Planner) at or (570) 524-3840.

Copyright 2007 by